Herb Brioche Crumbs

September 10, 2012 § 3 Comments

I love breadcrumb toppings, leftover brioche makes a lovely delicate sandy breadcrumb that is fantastic with fish or salads. When I am not eating cake, I eat a lot of fish. I am really lucky to live just down the road from the local fish co-op, so I drop in to pick up fish about 4 times a week after my muffin delivery run. I usually buy a couple of small locally caught fish and get the fish monger to leave them whole and just gut and scale them for me, because after a whole day baking and cleaning pots and pans it is about the easiest thing I know how to cook. I wrap each fish in a parcel filled with herbs from the garden and sliced onions and throw into my hot oven that has been cranking all day baking cakes and tarts, for about 20min at 200 degrees celsius. I then tuck into the fish straight from the bag. On nights when I don’t mind the idea of a few extra pans to clean might bake fish fillets with a crumb toping. I save any leftover bits of brioche and keep them in the freezer for this purpose. I like to use a mix of herbs I have growing in my garden but any mix will do, here I have added some dried lavender which makes it a sort of Herbes de Provence mix.

Recipe

2 cups brioche chunks

A bunch of fresh herbs such as parsley, sage, thyme, rosemary

2 teaspoons of culinary lavender

Zest of a lemon

1/2 teaspoon of salt

Method

Place the brioche on a pan in the oven set at 150 degrees celsius and dry out for about 10min, turn off the oven and leave the crumbs to cool. Meanwhile in a pestle and mortar bruise the lemon zest, salt and lavender. When the brioche has cooled place it in a food processor and blend until sandy, add the herbs and blend well. remove from the processor and rub the lemon lavender mix into the green crumbs. The crumbs are now ready to top salads, casseroles, fish, meat or even cauliflower cheese.

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Herb Brioche Crumbs

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Herb Brioche Crumbs at uprising (cakes, tarts, biscuits and yeast).

meta

