Citrus, Thyme and Honey Tart

April 28, 2010 § 6 Comments

I got a phone call the other day from my friend Ben who owns a cafe called III Bean; “Would I be interested in making the dessert for a set menu Autumn dinner? The main course is meatballs”. After a quick discussion we settled on a citrus tart, as lemons are just starting to come into season and limes are still abundant in my garden.

The special ingredient in this tart is the honey produced just the road from my house. I only noticed a little sign in the window of a house when walking my dog about three weeks ago (“honey for sale $2 and $3), so I knocked on the door and a man came out and said that he had none left; but come back in a couple of weeks and he would be taking his last harvest from the hive before winter. I promptly walked straight over to the house after this phone call to see if he had harvested any honey yet, and I was greeted by the bee keeper in the middle of his harvest. The hive is kept in his garden all year round, the bees travel up to 2 kilometers which means they may just fly past III Bean Cafe, and perhaps they pollinated the citrus in my garden.

Today I have to make 75 Citrus, Thyme and Honey Tarts….


§ 6 Responses to Citrus, Thyme and Honey Tart

  • You know, my mouth was drooling at the idea of veal meatballs – but now, after reading of these delicious-sounding tarts – well, perhaps a flood warning’s in order. Oh yum!

  • Kerry says:

    Hi Alice
    your tart sounds well balance between the sweet and the sour in the garden. The thyme is mysterious – I would never have thought of that!

    I bet you are famous amongst the bees n they take a special sight seeing flight over your house.
    xxx
    Kerry

  • Sue Atkinson says:

    Hello….
    I just want to say that you are an inspiration and I admire your passion and joy so so much!!!! I have been loving your sweet treats at One Penny Black. The girls treated me to a vanilla and passionfruit tart one late afternoon. I must have looked depleted or something, but it was the most uplifting little gift I had been given for a long time. The oooohh and aaaaahhhs coming from my mouth were audible from where I was sitting at the front of the cafe, and Bec could hear me from the kitchen. I can still sense the soft smooth texture and burst of flavours on my tongue. You are an amazing sweet treat chef and it is wonderful that you are following your passion with so much love and enthusiasm.
    Sue Atkinson
    “an Uprising Groupie”
    xx

  • Sue Atkinson says:

    Hello….
    I just want to say that you are an inspiration and I admire your passion and joy so so much!!!! I have been loving your sweet treats at One Penny Black. The girls treated me to a vanilla and passionfruit tart one late afternoon. I must have looked depleted or something, but it was the most uplifting little gift I had been given for a long time. The oooohh and aaaaahhhs coming from my mouth were audible from where I was sitting at the front of the cafe, and Bec could hear me from the kitchen. I can still sense the soft smooth texture and burst of flavours on my tongue. You are an amazing sweet treat chef and it is wonderful that you are following your passion with so much love and enthusiasm.
    Sue Atkinson
    “an Uprising Groupie”

    xx

  • Gosh, this looks delicious!
    Jess : )

  • Sue Webber says:

    Hi Alice,my high tea on Saturday 2/4 was a roaring success. 25 to 30 ladies thoroughly enjoyed your choc fudge, dark chocolate brownie, strawberry crumble, pistachio spice cake, rasberry cake, sour cheese pistachio and my all time personal favourite chocolate h0ney plus lavender. I am so pleased that you helped me cater for the wonderful friends, they all want me to do it again next year.Thank you so much and my sincere thanks to Ben at three bean. Regards Sue Webber.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Citrus, Thyme and Honey Tart at uprising (cakes, tarts, biscuits and yeast).

meta

