Feast In the Suburbs

October 5, 2009 § 7 Comments

I have always had this romantic notion of popping out the back door for a walk in the woods to pick berries and it snowing at Christmas. Too many imported books and television shows as a kid I guess. The reality is I live in an industrial inner city suburb of Newcastle; no woods here. However with the sub-tropical climate food readily grows in our gardens and spills over our fences, and from October to early December in the lane ways, water easements and public land you can find a feast of mulberries, and I guess we have the beach at Christmas.

Where else do you go to the panel beaters to get rosemary for the roast lamb?

Tagged:

§ 7 Responses to Feast In the Suburbs

  • leslie says:

    the easiest way to make a quick cobbler with them is to cover them well with sugar and let them get sweet and syrupy. heat the oven to 350 degrees far/melt a stick of butter in a 9×13″ baking dish in the oven, in a bowl combine 1 cup selfrising flour, 1 cup of milk, 1 1/2 cups sugar, vanilla and cinnamon,when mixed pour the butter into the mix and combine, then back into the baking dish. now spoon the several cups of fruit with the juice over the batter. take your finger tip or a knife and barely drag in a zig zag through it once. bake about 45 minutes til golden. if you want a bit crispier top abt 10 min before it’s done sprinkle a bit of sugar across the top. lovely with some vanilla bean ice cream!

    • alicelees says:

      Your cobbler recipe works really well, I will use it anytime I have a sweets craving and only few ingredients in the house. I always seem to have a tin of cherries kicking about, I think that they would work well too. Thanks

  • Kerry McDonald says:

    Hi Alice
    just perusing your blog. I love the mulberry trail. The photo in the lane is beautiful.
    As soon as my uni assessments are all in I am going to try one of your recipes – possibly a gluten free yummy tart or cake (or bread) – and I will share it with a friend who is gluten intolerant. Keep up the inspiration.
    I am finished my article on the ethics of food writing. It turned out to be a fascinating journey – I learnt heaps. Aussie writer Marion Halligan is an inspiration – she says to keep it simple and pure – you too do this – seems it’s the secret to everything.
    Kerry McDonald

    Kerry.

  • Kerry McDonald says:

    Hi again Alice,
    I should have also mentioned the other two fine Aussie writers who were at the ‘ethics of food writing’ talk at the Brisbane writers festival – Gay Bilson and Rebecca Huntley. have a great day,
    Kerry McDonald

  • leslie says:

    thank you alice! and definitely it does! works with any tinned fruit! even fruit cocktail! nice at holidays with a splash of rum! with tinned cherries & blueberries i always add a little extra sugar,to cut the acid and lift the flavors. i’ve made this recipe since 1972 with everything from wild strawberries to sweet potatoes and chocolate pudding and it is truly faultless!
    lovelove
    leslie
    xoxoxox
    “the most sincere love is that of food”
    “happy or sad we must be fed”

  • Ken Burgin says:

    Great blog – a nice discovery. My ‘found fruit’ are all the cumquats on neighbourhood trees in Spring. They’ll rot on the ground if you don’t collect them…then have fun (?) taking the seeds out!

    • alicelees says:

      I love cumquats, they make the best marmalade. When I lived in Canberra it was the plums in all the parks that I picked, that was 5 years ago and I still have plum jam and plum sauce from then.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Feast In the Suburbs at uprising (cakes, tarts, biscuits and yeast).

meta

