ANZAC Day

April 25, 2013 § 1 Comment

It has been a few years since I made ANZAC biscuits.                They are something I remember my mum used to make often when I was little. When I made my first batch this year as ANZAC day approached, I felt quite patriotic watching my Instgram feed as there was a collective posting of everyones version of ANZAC biscuits across the country. I made two types a traditional and one studded with my current obsession cocoa nibs. I didn’t have a copy of mums recipe so I adapted one that Jill Dupleix shared in the weekend paper last year.

Cocoa Nib ANZAC

COCOA NIB ANZAC BISCUITS

Recipe Makes 45

INGREDIENTS

300g rolled oats

150g desiccated coconut

600g white flour

390g dark brown sugar

150g cocoa nibs

375g unsalted butter

180g water

240g golden syrup

3 tsp bicarb soda

1 pinch of sea salt

SCOOP ONTO TRAYS

METHOD

In a large bowl combine the oats, coconut, sugar, flour, cocoa nibs and salt. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees C, and line two baking trays with baking paper. Melt the butter water and golden syrup together  in a pot over the stove, remove from the heat and stir through the bicarb soda pour this frothy mixture onto the dry ingredients and mix well. Use an ice cream scoop to divide the mixture onto the trays, then press the tops to flatten slightly. Place the trays into the oven and bake for about 20 min. Remove the trays and allow the biscuits to cool on racks until crispy on the outside and a little chewy on the inside.

 

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to ANZAC Day

  • Hugh says:

    Mine weren’t great Alice, I had to put a LOT of honey in to make up for the lack of golden syrup found in Aix en Provence

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ANZAC Day at uprising (cakes, tarts, biscuits and yeast).

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

